Trophies go to MLK parade winners

Trophies were awarded for the winning entries in the Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemmorative Committee parade on January 21, 2013, in Fort Pierce. First, second and third place, plus winners of special judges’ awards, were presented. Pictured, front row kneeling, are Jerrime Shells of Forest Grove Middle School with its first place trophy for the middle school division , and Principal Todd Smith of Fort Pierce Central High School with the first place trophy for the high school category. Second row, from left, are Assistant Principal Kim Smith with the Overall Floating Trophy awarded to Fort Pierce Magnet School of the Arts, Lilliam Athill with the first place trophy for Fort Pierce Magnet School of the Arts for the K-8 division, Barbara Bennett and Principal Juanita Wright of F. K. Sweet Elementary with the second place elementary division and Chairman of Judges Trophy, Assistant Principal Pat Gascoigne of Fairlawn Elementary with the first place trophy for the elementary school category, and School Board Chairman Debbie Hawley. Back row, from left, are Principal Terry Davis and Assistant Principal Latasha Scurry of Forest Grove Middle School, Superintendent Michael Lannon, Fairlawn Elementary School principal Marcia Cully, Rivers Edge assistant principal and committee chairperson Andrew McIntosh, committee member Dianne Williams, and Assistant Superintendent Dr. Mark Rendell.