Commissioners 29th Annual Academic Challenge Team Recognition

At the May 13th School Board Meeting, St. Lucie County high school students received plaques for placing 2nd in the State for the 29th Annual Commissioner’s Academic Challenge. The Commissioner’s Academic Challenge is a highly academic statewide high school tournament inaugurated in 1986 and designed to provide a prestigious academic arena in which Florida’s academically talented high school students are recognized. Each district team consisting of six high school students and one coach from around the state come together to compete in an inspiring demonstration of academic astuteness and teamwork. Players are challenged with questions from the areas of language arts, mathematics, science, social studies, the fine arts, world languages (French and Spanish) and technology.

Pictured on back row are, Debbie Hawley (Board Chairman), Principal Alan Cox (SLWCH), Jeremy Johnson (FPW), David Wahlman (Dean and Coach at LPA); and on the front row are, Lauren Herb (FPW), Nicole Molner (TCHS), William Barr (TCHS), Geoffrey Zheng (LPA), and Genelle Yost (Superintendent). Stephanie Fisher (SLWCH) was not present for the picture.