Mayors recognize schools for student achievement

Fort Pierce Mayor Linda Hudson and Port St. Lucie Mayor JoAnn Faeilla have begun a recognition program to honor public schools in their communities that have shown continued excellence, improved student achievement, and innovation. Pictured is Mayor Faeilla, left, with Principal Ucola Barrett-Baxter at Parkway Elementary School in Port St. Lucie, and Mayor Hudson with Principal Juanita Wright at Frances K. Sweet Elementary in Fort Pierce.