Employee of the year finalists recognized

Finalists for two of the four annual employee recognition groups for St. Lucie Public Schools were awarded plaques and presented during the February 11, 2014, school board meeting. The St. Lucie County Education Foundation recognized and presented plaques to Teacher of the Year (TOY) finalists Oak Hammock K-8 media specialist Heather Bolitho, Fort Pierce Central High School band and choral director Matthew Boswell, and Fairlawn Elementary School media specialist Kelly Ridle. School Related Employee of the Year (SREY) finalists recognized were Palm Pointe Educational Research School health paraprofessional Michelle DeGarmo, Allapattah Flats K-8 School office clerk Adela DellaCroce, and Parkway Elementary School nutrition manager Angelina Jean-Louis. Local winners in these two categories will go on to state competition. Pictured, from left, are Education Foundation Executive Board members Richard Kolleda and Carissa Zerga, TOY finalist Kelly Ridle, Education Foundation board member Robbi Giaccone, School Board vice chairman Dr. Donna Mills, TOY finalist Matthew Boswell, St. Lucie County Board of County Commission member Tod Mowery, TOY finalist Heather Bolitho, Education Foundation board member and CTA/CU president Vanessa Tillman, SREY finalist Michelle DeGarmo, School Board chairman Debbie Hawley, SREY finalist Angelina Jean-Louis, Superintendent Genelle Yost, Education Foundation Honorary Director Elizabeth Mallonee, SREY finalist Adela DellaCroce, Education Foundation board member and school district employee recognition coordinator Candace Stone, and Foundation Executive Director Jim McKenzie. Winners of these programs, as well as local recognitions for Outstanding First Year Teacher and Distinguished Minority Educator, will be announced February 22, 2014, during the annual Night of the Stars gala sponsored by the Education Foundation and the St. Lucie County School Board.