Education Foundation awards laptops to teachers

The St. Lucie County Education Foundation Teachers of Excellence Utilizing Technology committee selected three educators to receive a Dell Computer for their grant application. The teachers were selected based on their unique utilization of technology in the classroom to engage students and improve student achievement, and were presented their laptops at the May 22, 2012, St. Lucie County School Board meeting. Pictured with their new Dell laptops, from left, are 2013 Teacher of the Year JoAnne Trubisky from Windmill Point Elementary, who also received the laptop as part of her awards from the Education Foundation, Diane Buchholz from Port St. Lucie High, Pamela Garrity from Bayshore Elementary, and Sally VanDereedt from Lincoln Park Academy. Back row, from left, are Education Foundation president Michael Waninger, School Board chairman Carol Hilson, Superintendent Michael Lannon, Education Foundation executive director Jim McKenzie, and committee chair and Northport K-8 School principal Glenn Rustay.