2014 Martin Luther King Jr. Parade Awards

The Grand Parade is the capstone event of the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Commemorative Celebration. Once again this year, all of our schools participated in the parade. At the April 22, 2014 School Board Meeting, representatives from the Commemorative Celebration Committee presented trophies to the winning schools. In the Elementary Category, first place went to Fairlawn Elementary, second place went to Savanna Ridge Elementary, and third place went to Village Green Elementary. In the K-8 Category, first place went to Fort Pierce Magnet School of the Arts, second place went to West Gate K-8, and third place went to St. Lucie West K-8 School. In the Middle School Category, first place went to Dan McCarty Middle School, second place went to Forest Grove Middle School, and third place went to Southern Oaks Middle School. All high schools received trophies for participation. The Overall Floating Trophy went to Dan McCarty Middle School and the Chairman of Judges Award went to Fairlawn Elementary. Congratulations to all our schools.

Pictured in back row are: Superintendent Genelle Yost, Rodrick Johnson- FPCH, Dr. David Washington-FPMSA, Terry Davis-FGM, Robert Cranmer- WGK-8, Board Chairman Debbie Hawley, Henry Sanabria- TCHS, John Keelor-SLWK-8, Andrew McIntosh-REE. Pictured on the front row are, James Sloan-FPW/MOA, Alex Oge-PSLH, Pam Dampier- LPA, Lillian Athill-FPMSA, Lisa Sullivan-SOM, Narvelene Lucas-WGK-8, Susan Seal-SLWK-8, Kathleen Melrose-SRE, Jennifer Hedeen-FLE.