St. Lucie School Board earns prestigious distinction

The distinction of “Master Board” was awarded to the St. Lucie County school district leadership team by the Florida School Boards Association at their Annual Spring Conference, held June 13 – 15, 2012, in Tampa. The St. Lucie County school district is one of only thirty-five (35) school districts in Florida to currently hold this prestigious award, or about half of the state’s school districts. The Master Board Program is a voluntary program which provides opportunities for the leadership team (defined as the superintendent and the school board) to engage in training that enhances its capacity to provide visionary leadership for the school district. The Master Board Program concentrates on the leadership team’s governance roles for enhancing student achievement, fostering connections and empowering collaboration between schools and the community, and creating a learning organization to advance excellence in public education. The leadership team completed twenty-two (22) hours of learning activities in a state-wide forum and onsite trainings to earn this distinction. Pictured, seated, from left, Chairman Carol Hilson, Vice Chairman Debbie Hawley, School Board Member Kathryn Hensley. Back row, from left, are School Board members Troy Ingersoll and Dr. Donna Mills, and Superintendent Michael Lannon.