St. Lucie Public Schools Expands Community Eligibility Provision Program

ST. LUCIE COUNTY – For the third year in a row, St. Lucie Public Schools (SLPS) continues to include the Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) program in schools that qualify.  According to Child and Nutrition Services Director Deborah Wuest, this year the District was able to expand the program to sixteen schools.  Last year 10 schools received the benefit of this program that enables all students to receive breakfast and lunch at no cost.


Wuest explained that a number of factors must be closely analyzed and reviewed by the USDA before a school is identified as a qualifying CEP site.  Once designated, pending no major shifts in qualifying indicators, the distinction is good for three years.  Considerations in determining eligibility factors for CEP include, but are not limited to the number of students who are certified to receive free meals and the number of students participating in the school meals program.


School sites participating in this year’s CEP program are: C. A. Moore Elementary, Dale Cassens Educational Complex, Dan McCarty Middle School, Forest Grove Middle School, Fort Pierce Magnet School of the Arts, Fort Pierce Westwood High School, Lakewood Park Elementary, Lawnwood Elementary, Northport K-8, Parkway Elementary, Performance Based Preparatory Academy, Samuel Gaines Academy, Savanna Ridge Elementary, St. Lucie Elementary, Weatherbee Elementary, and White City Elementary.


While CEP programs provide benefit to the identified schools, qualifying students at other schools still have the opportunity to receive free and reduced price meals.  Free and reduced price meal applications are available online at


About St. Lucie Public Schools

The mission of St. Lucie Public Schools is to ensure all students graduate from safe and caring schools equipped with the knowledge, skills and desire to succeed. For more information visit,  or contact Kerry Padrick at



Author: Lydia Martin

Staff - (Changed 6/1/2022 11:25:02 AM)