St. Lucie Public Schools Educator Nominated for National LifeChanger of the Year Award

ST. LUCIE COUNTY, FL – Fort Pierce Westwood High School’s Makeda-Ione Brome has been nominated for the 2019-2020 national LifeChanger of the Year award. 

Brome was nominated by her colleagues for her leadership and selfless dedication. She is dedicated to helping both students and colleagues achieve excellence. Brome, the St. Lucie Public Schools Teacher of the Year, models best classroom practices, leads collaborative planning sessions, tutors students, and spearheads math boot camps for students before and after school. 

Brome voluntarily transferred from a high-performing magnet school to Fort Pierce Westwood High School because she felt she could make the most positive difference for students whose challenges and needs are greatest. Since then, the school has increased its mathematics pass rates and graduation rate. 

“Ms. Makeda-Ione Brome proves herself time and time again to be exemplary,” said Superintendent E. Wayne Gent. “I can think of no other representative to serve as a model for LifeChanger of the Year. She is most deserving of this great honor.” 

About St. Lucie Public Schools

St. Lucie Public Schools (SLPS) proudly serves students with a graduation rate of 91.8 percent.  As a B rated District, there are no failing schools, and SLPS ranks among the top one-third of Florida’s districts for student achievement. The District also has the distinction of being recognized as one of St. Lucie County’s Best Places to Work.  The mission of SLPS is to ensure all students graduate from safe and caring schools equipped with the knowledge, skills and desire to succeed. Connect with us on Facebook, LinkedIn, and Twitter, or visit

About LifeChanger of the Year

Sponsored by the National Life Group Foundation, LifeChanger of the Year recognizes and rewards the very best K-12 educators and school district employees across the United States who are making a difference in the lives of students by exemplifying excellence, positive influence and leadership. 

Each school year, LifeChanger of the Year receives hundreds of nominations from all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Seventeen individual LifeChanger of the Year awards will be given during the 2019-2020 school year. 

  •  (1) Grand Prize Winner – will receive $10,000 to be shared with their school/district.
  •  (4) Grand Prize Finalists – will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school/district.
  •  (10) LifeChanger Award Winners – will receive $3,000 to be shared with their school/district.
  •  (1) Spirit Award Winner – This award is given to the nominee whose community demonstrates the most support for their nomination. The winner will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school/district.
  •  (1) Spotlight Award Winner – This award is given to a nominee in a specific discipline each year. For 2019-20, the Spotlight Award will be given to a nominee who has made a proven impact on school safety. The winner will receive $5,000 to be shared with their school or district.

Winners are announced via surprise award ceremonies held at their schools. The grand prize finalists will also be honored at a national awards ceremony in April 2020 in Florida, where the Grand Prize Winner will be revealed. 

Winners are chosen by a selection committee comprised of former winners and education professionals. Nominees must be K-12 teachers or school district employees. To be considered for an award, nominees must 

  • Make a positive impact in the lives of students 
  • Enhance their school or district’s atmosphere, culture and pride
  • Demonstrate exemplary leadership at the school and/or district level
  • Possess a proven record of professional excellence
  • Show commitment to building a nurturing environment that supports learning
  • Adhere to the highest moral and ethical standards

A resource page with ideas for how to celebrate nominees can be found at

To view Ms. Brome’s LifeChanger of the Year nominee profile, or to nominate someone from your school community, visit 

Author: Lydia Martin

Staff - (Changed 3/18/2024 10:57:15 PM)