Dr. Samuel S. Gaines Essay Contest Middle School Winners

Dr. Samuel S. Gaines Essay Contest Middle School Winners

At the April 8th School Board Meeting, the winners of the Dr. Samuel S. Gaines Essay Contest were announced.

The First Place award was presented to Grishma Patel, Manatee Academy K-8.

The Second Place Award was presented to Jewel Edwards, Lincoln Park Academy.

The Third Place Award was presented to Alyssa Fernandez, Forest Grove Middle School.


Pictured on back row, David Foxx (LPA Assistant Principal), Terry Davis (FGM Principal), Debbie Hawley (Board Chairman), Genelle Yost (Superintendent), Dr. Samual S. Gaines; on the second row, Jewel Edwards (LPA), Katina Barriner (FGM Teacher), Lillian Beachamp (MANK-8 Principal), Peggy Chase (MANK-8 Assistant Principal), Melissa Hutchings (MANK-8 Assistant Principal), Chuck Kearns (Morganti Group), and on front row, Alyssa Fernandez (FGM), and Grishma Patel (MANK-8).

Executive Directors of Schools Announced

St. Lucie Public Schools Superintendent Genelle Yost announced today the selection of current school principals, Pam Dampier and Lydia Martin, as Executive Directors of Schools.

Veteran Principal Pam Dampier currently serves as principal of Lincoln Park Academy. She began her service to St. Lucie Public Schools in 1994 as a teacher who held numerous leadership roles prior to moving into administration. Mrs. Dampier worked as the principal of St. Lucie West K-8 School from August 2005 to June 2013 during which time she facilitated the campus’s successful transition from a middle school to a K-8 school. Mrs. Dampier is a visionary who has the ability to foster support and collaborative relationships amongst her staffs for the united purpose of enhancing student achievement.

Lydia Martin, also celebrated as a successful school leader, will join the the district staff after serving as the principal at Southport Middle School for the past four years. Supporting St. Lucie Public Schools since 1994, Mrs. Martin has held successful leadership roles including classroom instructor, assistant principal and principal. She is a practiced instructional leader who will share her skills and talents to build greater capacity amongst District principals in her new role. Her ability to analyze data and communicate strategies for school improvement make her a natural fit for the position of Executive Director.

59th Annual State Science and Engineering Fair of Florida Winners

59th Annual State Science and Engineering Fair of Florida Winners

Recently hundreds of students participated in our Regional STEM Fair held in St. Lucie County. STEM education includes every field under the umbrella of Science, Technology, Engineering and Math – everything from chemistry to physics, software design to trigonometry. From this academic showcase, individuals participated in the 59th Annual State Science and Engineering Fair of Florida held in Lakeland in April.

Our students participated and made quite an impact on a continuum of categories ranging from zoology to biochemistry. In fact, three of our 14 participants were invited to participate in the next level of competition- the International Science Fair in Los Angeles, California.

At the School Board Meeting on May 13th, students were recognized and presented plaques by Paul Reif, SLC Science Fair Coordinator, and Kerry Padrick, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum, Instruction, and Assessment.

The winners in each division were:

Junior Division 1st Place, Environmental Science- Hafsa Saeed, Lincoln Park Academy
1st Place, Chemistry- Priya Budhai, Oak Hammock K-8
2nd Place, Zoology- Haniya Shareef, Lincoln Park Academy
2nd Place, Physics & Astronomy- Rachel Dowell, Home School
3rd Place, Microbiology- Cristin Donaldson, Lincoln Park Academy
Honorable Mention, Zoology- Shreya Reddy, Lincoln Park Academy
Senior Division 1st Place, Biochemistry- Robert Bacchus, Lincoln Park Academy
3rd Place, Botany- Stephanie Fisher, St. Lucie West Centennial
4th Place, Engineering- Zoe Barbeau, Home School
4th Place, Zoology- Isabella Daza, Home School
Special Award, Luke Horger, Lincoln Park Academy
Honorable Mention, Zoology- Kousal Rao, Lincoln Park Academy
Participants- Ryan Beany and Savannah Senko

Pictured left to right are, Debbie Hawley (Board Chairman), Ryan Beany, Hafsa Saeed, Priya Budhai, Haniya Shareef, Alan Cox (SLWCH Principal), Deanna Pick (accepting for Home School students), Isabella Daza, Pam Dampier (LPA Principal), Cristin Donaldson, Shreya Reddy, Genelle Yost (Superintendent).